A description of who I am

Caraballo, Pedro R.



A Description of Who I Am: I have been in prison since 1999. I was 20 years old when I committed my crime. I had never been in any kind of trouble with the law and yet I was sentenced to die in prison in spite of mine being a non—homicide conviction and a first offense. My crime was that I participated in a kidnapping at the urging of the 47 year old man who befriended me at summer camp when I was a child and had been the lone parental figure in my life since bringing me to the United States at the age of 16. Knowing the kind of young person I was then —— one who had learned English while completing high school and was attending Florida International University and Miami Dade Community College with ambitions of becoming a computer programer -- I struggle every day to understand how I allowed such a bewildering derailment of not only my dreams but my morals and character. I do not excuse myself for my role in the terrible thing we did and I will continue to repent my actions for the rest of my life. It is painful to think of the crime I committed. From my earliest days in prison, in spite of the lifelong incarceration facing me, I have set out to conduct myself as the kind of person who I know in my heart I was meant to be. I believe that my included resume of achievements during incarceration is indicative of both my sincerity and determination to prove this to myself. I have worked diligently in the courts to win a reduction in the life sentence that all legal precedent suggests was highly over—punitive. There are realistic possibilities still remaining to me —— like applying for clemency or an international treaty transfer to my native country of Venezuela —— but to have any chance of success I will require additional support and expertise. This is why I am reaching out into the world to tell people about myself, in the hope that I might one day be able to earn my freedom and live the rest of my life like the decent human being I know myself to be. My Goals in Life: To be a free man who contributes to society; to spend time with my family, especially my mother, who I have not seen since 1996; to live a happy and peaceful life close to nature; to marry a good woman with whom I can start a family; to talk to others about the principles found in the Bible and how applying them can benefit our lives; to learn the French language; to one day have a career as a painter in fine art and be a successful investor/trader in the financial markets. How I Spend My Days in Prison: I maintain a clear record of conduct and stay busy in pursuit of productive self—improvement by following a strict schedule of study activities every day. This includes: * Painting in oil and pastel, and studying different techniques from books and art magazines. * Study of the financial markets from newspapers, magazines, books and viewing the financial 2 channel CNBC. * Bible study, and talking to others about the Bible. * A little French study. * A little exercise to maintain my health. If you would like to know more, Contact me at the address below or see my profile: https://prisoninmates.com/profile/PedroCaraballo60136-O04 Pedro R. Caraballo 60136-004 Unit DB PO BOX 699 Estill, SC 29918-0699

Author: Caraballo, Pedro R.

Author Location: South Carolina

Date: October 30, 2018

Genre: Essay

Extent: 3 pages

If this is your essay and you would like it removed from or changed on this site, refer to our Takedown and Changes policy.

Takedown and Changes Policy
Browse More Essays